Opposition members walkout over denial of powers, finances to LBs

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Sep 2 (UNI) The main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and also the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), CPI, CPI(M), BJP and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) today staged a walkout in Andhra Pradesh Assembly over the Congress government's alleged refusal to devolve powers and finances to Panchayatraj institutions.

Demanding scrapping of Government Order 13, empowering ministers in-charge to select works in local bodies, leader of the Opposition N Chandrababu Naidu claimed that the Congress government had taken back 54 of the 64 powers delegated to Panchayatraj institutions by the previous TDP Government, before leading his party colleagues out of the House during Question hour.

TRS floor leader E Rajender-led TRS members out of the House alleging that the Congress government had weakened the Local Bodies in violation of the spirit of the 73rd Constitution Amendment Act and had given a go-by to the cherished goal of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.

Before leading the Marxist members out of the House, CPI(M) Floor leader N Narasimaiah alleged that the state government had failed to release about Rs 1000 crore due to the local bodies.

CPI leader P Venkata Reddy led his party colleagues out of the House contending that the state government had weakened the Local Bodies by starving them of funds and powers.

The lone BSP member L Raja Rao also walked out of the House in protest against corruption in the selection of works, while CPI(ML) New Democracy, member G Narasaiah registered his party's protest over centralisation of powers by the Government.


Please Wait while comments are loading...