Suresh Jain defeats NCP-Cong in Jalgaon Corporation elections

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Sep 1 (UNI) Suresh Jain, ex-minister and prominent Nationalist Congress Party MLA has won a majority in the Jalagoan Municipal Corporation elections held yesterday.

Out of 69 seats, Khandesh Vikas Aghadi lead by Jain has captured 33 seats. NCP secured 13 seats, while BJP got nine and Shiv Sena could get only one seat.

Suresh Jain has been fighting a lone battle for control of his home town. Other groups called Shahar Vikas Aghadi has won eight seats, while Mahanagar Vikas Aghadi won a signal seat and three seats went to independents.

In by-elections held to Aurangabad Municipal Corporation, NCP won two seats, while Congress and Sena secured one seats each.

In Bhadravati Municipality in Chandrapur district, out of 26 seats Shiv Sena won 12 seats, while BJP won only one. NCP secured two and Congress three seats.

The Maharashtra Navanirman Sena lead by Raj Thackeray has won a seat each in Jalgaon and Bhadravati, which is considered significant among political circles here.


Please Wait while comments are loading...