CFA carry too many guns against SS Academy Mumbai

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sep 1 (UNI) Bolstered by four goals scored by Pankaj Negi, Chandigarh Football Academy routed Steadfast Sports Academy of Mumbai by 9-0 drubbing in their opening group A encounter of the sixth Administrator's Challenge Cup All-India Football Tournament for Under-17 being hosted by the Chandigarh Sports Department at the Sector 17 Football Stadium here today.

The CF Academy, which a Chandigarh Sports Department venutre, could have won the match by a still bigger margin but they slowed down the game after a 6-0 lead at half time. Though camped inside the rivals' territory throughout the second half, the CFA boys doing passing practice for most of the time.

The Steadfast Sports Academy boys remained at the receiving end.

CFA goalkeeper Harpreet Singh had an off day as he did not touch the ball even once in the second half. At the other end SS Academy custodian Ghulam Shahid had a tough time, especially in the first half.

The star performer for formidable CF Academy was Pankaj Negi.

After Sajandeep Singh had given CFA lead in the 18th minute, Pankaj Negi scored two quick goals in the 21st and 23rd minutes. Gagandeep made it 4-0 in the 25th minute.

The main CFA striker Pankaj Negi again got two quick goals in the 32nd and 34th minutes as the teams crossed over with the local team leading by 6-0.

The CFA virtually utilized the second half for passing practice.

Occasionally, the CFA launched serious attacks. They got three goals on resumption. Substitute Sumit Passi scored in the 55 th minute and Sehnaj Singh contributed one in the 60th minute.

Another CFA substitute Chikash Tiwari completed the SS Academy's rout with a long range volley as the Mumbai goalkeeper Ghulam Sahid remained rooted at one place.

Earlier, Punjab Governor and Chandigarh Administrator Gen (Retd) SF Rodrigues inaugurated the tournament in which 16 teams from all over the country are taking part.

Speaking on the occasion, Finance-cum-Sports Secretary Sanjay Kumar announced that the winners would get a cash award of Rs 50,000 and runners-up Rs 25,000.


Please Wait while comments are loading...