200 players for S K Pottekkat chess tourney

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kozhikode, Sep 1 (UNI) As many as 200 players from various parts of the country would participate in the S K Pottekkat Fide-Rated All India Open Chess Tournament-2008 beginning here from September 4.

IM M R Venkatesh (Tamil Nadu), defending champion R R Lakshman, T S Ravi, R Balasubramanian (Railways), T P S Girinath (Andhra Pradesh), C Natarajan (ICF), T J Suresh Kumar (ICF), E P Nirmal (Kerala), C H Meghna (U-16 national champion), Niji Premnath (national runner-up sub junior) have confirmed participation, according to a press release here today.

The six-day tournament offers a total prize money of Rs 1.2 lakh, the release added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...