Jharkhand: Soren's trust motion begins today

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Aug 29: The special session to take up the trial of strength for the three-day-old Shibu Soren-led government in Jharkhand began at 1100 hours on Friday, Aug 29.

Speaker Alamgir Alam began the business of the House appealing to members to cooperate with the Chair for smooth running of the business.

JMM president Shibu Soren and 11 other ministers took oath of office on August 27 at the historic Morabadi ground here.

Mr Soren claimed to have the support of 42 Legislators, a comfortable majority in the effecive 81-member House. One seat fell vacant following assassination of Ramesh Singh Munda (JD-U) by Maoist ultras last month.

The 42-member list comprises JMM (17), Congress (9), RJD (7), United Goan Democratic Party (2), Jharkhand Party (1), Nationalist Congress Party (1), Forward Bloc (1) and four Independent MLAs - Madhu Koda, Stephen Marandi, Harinarai Rai and Bhanu Pratap Shahi.

Meanwhile, the Speaker yesterday suspended voting rights of two suspended BJP MLAs - Bishnu Bhaiya and Manohar Tekriwal - for the crucial Trust Motion.

Opposition leader Arjun Munda (BJP) filed a petition seeking their disqualification under Tenth Schedule.

The duo had shifted loyalty to JVM (Democratic) president Babulal Marandi in the past and recently was seen hobnobbing with the Soren group.

Three other suspended BJP legislators - Ravindra Kumar Rai, Pradeep Kumar Yadav and Kunti Devi - yesterday appeared before the Speaker and sought time.

Mr Alam gave them ten days to submit their replies.


Please Wait while comments are loading...