Recipients of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Awards announced

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug 19 (UNI) India's one-day captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Olympians Anup Sridhar and Bajranglal Takhar were among the list of 12 sportspersons who were named for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Award for the year 2007 by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports here today.

Dhoni will receive the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, India's highest honour for achievement in sports.

Takhar, who reached the quarterfinal of the single sculls rowing event at Beijing and Sridhar were joined by fellow Olympians Tombi Devi, Chitra K Soman, Avneet Kaur Sidhu in the list of Arjuna Awardees.

Boxer Johnson Verghese who won the silver medal in the Super Heavyweight (+91 kg) division at the Commonwealth Games in 2006, junior world champion Harika Dronavelli (chess), Prabhjot Singh (hockey), Arjun Atwal (golf), Alka Tomar (wrestling) and powerlifter Farman Basha (disabled category) were the other recipients of the Arjuna Award.

Hakam Singh (Athletics), Mukhbain Singh (Hockey), Gian Singh (Wrestling), will get the Dhyan Chand Awards for 2008.

The selection committee met under the chairpersonship of former athlete Jyotirmoy Sikdar to select the following coaches for the Dronacharya Award for the year 2007: Sanjeeva Kumar Singh (Archery), Jagdish Singh (Boxing), G E Sridharan (Volleyball) and Jagminder Singh (Wrestling).

The awards will be given by President Pratibha Devisingh Patil on August 29.


Please Wait while comments are loading...