Rangarajan, Krishna take oath as RS members

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug 18: Former Reserve Bank Governor and Prime Minister's Economic Advisory Council Chairman C Rangarajan and former Karnataka Chief Minister S M Krishna were administered the oath of affirmation by Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari in his Chamber on Monday, Aug 18.

Mr Rangarajan, an outstanding economist and former Governor of Andhra Pradesh, was nominated to the Upper House. Mr Krishna, former Maharashtra Governor, got elected from the Karnataka Assembly as a candidate of the ruling Congress party. With Mr Rangarajan becoming a member of the Rajya Sabha, the Upper House now has three former RBI Governors, including Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Bimal Jalan.

Mr Krishna demitted his Governorship, ahead of his term to be a part of the Congress campaign in Karnataka. He was brought into the Upper House, despite opposition from Janata Dal (Secular) President H D Deve Gowda, on whose support the fate of the second Congress candidate depended.

He is likely to participate in the organisational matters in the Congress party.


Please Wait while comments are loading...