32 AR soldiers honoured

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shillong, Aug 16 (UNI) In all 32 Assam Rifles (AR) jawans have been honoured for their outstanding service in the defence of the nation, particularly the Northeastern region.

AR sources said here today that on the occasion of Independence Day yesterday, gallantry awards were conferred on 32 soldiers of the paramilitary forces.

Major N B singh and Major Rajendra Kumar Sharma have been awarded with the Kirti Chakra while Major Sukesh Verma and Rifleman S B Thangal got the Shaurya Chakra.

Sena Medals were conferred on Major Vijay Sati, Major Sukhdev Nagial, Major Prashant Rai, Captain Chetan Dhawad, Rifleman Poora Ram Janee, Rifleman K Thongmin Khongsai and Rifleman Joysow.

Chief of the Army Staff Appreciations were presented to Col A H Harge, Lt Col Y S Sangwan, Major Anoop Nair, Captain Neeraj Rawat, Captain Animesh Dubey, Deputy Commandant Balwant Singh, Assistant Commandant Prakash Pannicker, Havildar Kalyan Singh, Rifleman Ganesh Damai, Rifleman Prabhat Jamal, Rifleman Hanmung and Rifleman S N Tangkhul.

The President's Medal for meritorious service was given to Deputy Commandant Prasad Thapa, Assistant Commandant G Ravindran Pillai, Assistant Commandant Anil Kumar Kunneparampil, Subedar Major K D Upreti, Subedar Major Ayodhya Prasad, Subedar Uma Thapa, Naib Subedar Padampal, Naib Subedar Dharam Singh and Naib Subedar Dil Singh Kandari, the sources said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...