Padma Shri Prof T V Ramakrishnan gets 2008 G M Modi Sc

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug 12 (UNI) Professor TV Ramakrishnan, a professor in the department for atomic energy at the Homi Bhabha institute and an Emeritus professor at the Banaras Hindu University has been awarded the G M Modi Award for Innovative Science and Technology for the year 2008.

Instituted by the Gujar Mal Modi Science Foundation, the award has been given to Prof Ramakrishnan for his outstanding contributions to Condensed Matter Physics.

The scientist was conferred the award at a special function in the Capital this weekend.

The Award, carrying a cash prize of Rs 2,01,000. the scroll of honour and a silver shield, was presented to Professor Ramakrishnan by K K Modi, Chairman, Modi Enterprises, at a ceremony attended by leading scientists and eminent personalities.

Prof Ramakrishnan's work in the late seventies started in two subfields of condensed matter Physics, namely the contemporary approach to freezing of fluids and states of dense strongly correlated classical system, as well as the spatial localisation of electronic states in disordered media.

With this honour, Prof Ramakrishnan joins an impressive list of previous awardees, which includes names like Prof. Satish Dhawan, former President APJ Abdul Kalam, Prof. U R Rao and Prof. Goverdhan Mehta.

Dr K Kasturirangan, former Chairman of ISRO and presently MP and Director, National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore, chaired the jury to select the winner for this year's award.


Please Wait while comments are loading...