AASU supports six tribes scheduling demand

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Guwahati, Aug 1 (UNI) The All Assam Students Union(AASU) has taken an initiative to reach a broad understanding among the six tribal communities fighting for scheduled status in Assam for several years.

A meeting of the students unions of these communities--Moran, Matak, Chutiya, Koch-Rajbongshi, Tea community and Ahoms--took place here this afternoon where the AASU leadership was also present.

AASU adviser Dr Samujjal Kr Bhattacharya led his delegation. The AASU decided to throw its weight behind these communities for early scheduling as well as in pressuring both the state and the central governments.

The Assam government meanwhile lobbed the scheduling ball to the court.

Committees were formed comprising members of the agitating groups to solve the issue.

The Tarun Gogoi led Congress government decided to constitute three-member committees for each of the six communities seeking Scheduled Tribes status and added that their inclusion would in no way affect those already in the list.

The decision was taken at a high-level meeting between the government and the representatives of the six communities-- Koch-Rajbongshi, tea tribes, Chutia, Moran, Matak and Tai-Ahom--at the Congress Legislature Party office in the Assembly recently.

The meeting was chaired by the chief minister and attended by Planning and Development Minister Prithibi Majhi, Agriculture Minister Pramila Rani Brahma and Chief Secretary P C Sharma.

The six communities were represented by All Assam Moran Students' Union, the Moran Sabha, All Tai Ahom Students' Union, All Tai Yuba Parishad, Assam Tea Tribes Students' Association, Koch-Rajbongshi Students' Union, Chutia Yuba Chatra Sanimilan, Chutia Jatiya Sanmilan, Matak Yuba Chatra Parishad and Matak Sanmilan.


Please Wait while comments are loading...