States asked to set up Helplines to redress grievance about NREGA

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 30 (UNI) The Centre has asked states to establish helplines at the State and District levels to facilitate faster redressal of Grievances about the implementation of the National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme.

The direction was made at a review meeting of progress of key processes under NREGA held recently here with State Nodal Officers of 16 States in the Ministry of Rural Development. It has also asked nominations of District level Nodal Officers for review of NREGA by the State Government at the State level. The meeting also suggested for a conference of such District level Nodal Officers to review the operationalisation of management information system (MIS).

To measure the operationalisation of MIS, difference analysis should be undertaken. Difference should be calculated between the figures reported in the MPR and MIS. Complete operationalisation of MIS will be achieved when the difference is negligible.

Discussion also took place on operationalisation of computer-based MIS, labour budget, reports of National Level Monitors, disposal of complaints and grievances, social audit, establishment of helpline and payment of wages through banks and post office accounts.

The State Nodal Officers were advised to take steps for nominations of District level Nodal Officers for review of NREGA by the State Government at the State level and instruct the District Nodal Officers to ensure that the difference analysis is done in every block by the Programme Officers. The Programme Officers should take steps to ensure complete data entry for muster rolls, job cards, flow of funds and details of works.

State Nodal Officers were also requested to send the report on action taken by the State Governments on the adverse findings of the National Level Monitors. They were also requested to inquire into the complaints forwarded to them by the Central Government and submit report.

The representatives of sixteen States participated in the meeting namely Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Tripura, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Haryana, Mizoram, Himachal Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Sikkim and Puducherry.


Please Wait while comments are loading...