West Bengal and UP advance to finals

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Jul 28 (UNI) Holders Accountant General West Bengal and strong contenders north zone champions Accountant General Uttar Pradesh advanced to the team championship final of the All-India Inter-Zonal IA and AD Table Tennis Tournament being conducted by Accountant General Haryana at the Sector 23 Table Tennis Hall here today.

AG West Bengal outplayed hosts AG Haryana by 3-0 in the semi-final match. Samit Biswas put West Bengal ahead by defeating Amod Dixit of Haryana by 3-11, 11-3, 4-11, 11-5, 11-5 in the first singles match.

Sourav Sengupta made it 2-0 with a 11-4, 11-3, 11-9 triumph over Harish Kumar. Then Santanu Banerjee downed Patanjli Kumar by 11-9, 11-9, 11-8 in the third and final game.

Earlier, AG Haryana eliminated AG Madhya Pradesh by 3-0 in a first-round outing. Amod Dixit, Harish Kumar and Patanjali Kumar won their respective singles matches to guide the hosts' team into semi-final.

AG Uttar Pradesh defeated formidable of AG Karnataka by 3-2.

UP won the first two singles to gain a 2-0 lead. Amit Srivastav beat Suresh Babu by 11-6, 7-11, 4-11, 11-9, 11-6 and SP Singh beat Praveen Joshi 11-5, 11-8, 4-11, 11-7.

Trailing by two games, Karnataka staged a fine rally by winning the next two singles to neutralise the lead. Murali Krishna defeated SK Tiwari 11-3, 5-11, 11-9, 11-7 and Praveen Joshi edged Amit Srivastav 11-5, 8-11, 11-6, 9-11, 11-9.

With score reading two-all, SP Singh then clinched the issue in favour of Uttar Pradesh as he ended the challenge of Suresh Babu 11-8, 11-8, 7-11, 11-9.

Meanwhile, Saurav Sengupta of AG West Bengal and Basab Chaudhary of AG Nagpur have been seeded one and two, respectively, in men's singles individual championship. They have been given bye in the first round. Gurvinder Kaur of AG Punjab and Leena Khare of Uttar Pradesh are first and second seeds, respectively, in the women's singles individual competitons.

North Zone champion runner-up Patanjali Kumar of AG Haryana was seeded top in the men's singles veterans category. Somnath Pramanik of AG Uttar Pradesh is the second seed.


Please Wait while comments are loading...