IGNOU signs MOU with 14 State Open Univs to form Consortium

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 27 (UNI) The Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) has signed an MoU with 14 State Open Universities to form a Consortium namely "Inter University Consortium".

This Inter University Consortium for Technology Enabled Flexible Education&Development (IUC-TEFED) would undertake relevant collaborative activities and jointly achieve their common goals and initiatives of open and distance learning institutions so that the right kind of environment could be created to promote technology enabled education and development in the context of nation building, the IGNOU spokesperson said.

The various Universities with which IGNOU signed the MOU are Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University, Ahmd, Karnataka State Open University, Mysore, Netaji Sibhas Open University, Kolkata, Tamil Nadu Open University, Guindy, Chennai, U P, Tajashri Tandon Open University, Allahabad, Dr B R Ambedkar Open University, Hyderabad, Vardhman Mahaveer Open University, Kota, Nalanda Open University, Patna, Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University, Nashik, Madhya Pradesh Bhoj Open University, Bhopal, Pt Sunderlal Sharma Open University, Chhattisgarh, Uttrakhand Open University, Nainital, Krishna Kanta Handique Open University, Guwahati and the Global Open University, Nagaland.

The main objects and aims of the Consortium are to make use of ODL as a tool in imparting knowledge through Information and Communication Technology(ICT) with collective efforts by all the participating Open Universities (OUs).

It would maintain quality in the programmes being offered through distance mode by Distance Education Institutions (DEIs) of conventional universities through proper use of ICT, the spokesperson added.

It would also facilitate convergence of different modes and streams of education in the country through technology enabled education, training and research and also undertake development related to socio-economic development programmes through ODL-based and technology enabled programmes.

Some new collaborative initiatives specific to the regions/states where Open Universities are located would be taken up and linked up with the local tele-learning Consortiums, the spokesperson said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...