SP expels six MPs for cross voting in trust vote

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 25 (UNI) The Samajwadi Party, which supported the UPA in the crucial July 22 trust vote, today expelled six of its MPs for cross-voting.

SP general secretary and Rajya Sabha member Amar Singh told reporters here that parliamentary party leader Ram Gopal Yadav would meet Speaker Somnath Chatterjee tomorrow to hand over the list of the six rebel Lok Sabha members.

The MPs expelled today are jail birds Atiq Ahmed and Afzal Ansari and Raj Kumar Budholia, Jai Prakash Rawat, S P Singh Baghel and Munnawar Hassan.

To a poser on allegations by the BJP that he had given Rs one crore as advance to one its MPs to abstain during the Trust Vote, Mr Singh said the ''sting operation'' was a joint operation carried out by the BJP and BSP to defame the SP leadership.


Please Wait while comments are loading...