ICC Board to decide venue of Champions Trophy today

Subscribe to Oneindia News


Dubai, July 24 : The Board of the International Cricket Council (ICC) will hold a teleconference today to discuss the location for this year's ICC Champions Trophy.

The teleconference will take place at 2.30 p.m. Dubai time (1030 GMT, 1130 BST, 1600 India time).

After the teleconference the following are the media arrangements, the ICC said in a press release:

A media release will be issued with details of the Board's decision

It is anticipated ICC President David Morgan will speak to SNTV; details of when the interview will be played out can be obtained from your usual SNTV sources or +44 20 8233 5770 (0800 - 2300 GMT) ICC Chief Executive Officer Haroon Lorgat, in Colombo for the first Sri Lanka - India Test match, will be available to speak to media at the Taj Samudra Hotel in Colombo at 1930 local time (1400 GMT, 1500 BST)

The ICC Champions Trophy, the game's second "major" after the ICC Cricket World Cup, is a short, sharp event involving the top eight teams in the Reliance Mobile ICC ODI Championship table as of 11 March 2008.

Those teams will be divided into two groups with three round-robin matches for each, before the top two line-ups from each of those groups go forward to semi-finals and a final.

The defending champion is Australia, which beat the West Indies in the 2006 final, in Mumbai, India.

ANI

Please Wait while comments are loading...