Justice P Chandrasekhara Rao honoured

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jul 19 (UNI) Justice P Chandrasekhara Rao, former President (1999-2002) of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, was today honoured with degree of Doctor Laws (LLD) Honoris Causa at the sixth convocation of the prestigious NALSAR University here.

Mr Rao was given the honour for his valuable contribution to the law in various capacities, including as the Law Secretary.

He was first elected as a judge of the Tribunal in 1996 for three years and re-elected in 1999 for nine years.

Recently, he was re-elected for another nine years.

Justice Rao, a prominent member of various international bodies of high repute, has written several books, including on Indian Constitution and International Law.

The others who were awarded the Doctor of Philosophy were Narasimha Rao (Capital Punishment - a Justistic study), Ms P Vijay Kalyani (The weapons of mass destruction- the role of International Humanitarian Law) and Mr Sudhir Raja Ravindran (Intellectual Property Risk Management- a critical study).

Setting a record at NALSAR, Manish Aggarwal received 17 gold medals, Ms Megha Ramani received six gold medals and Mr Talha Abdul Rehmani received three gold medals.


Please Wait while comments are loading...