MDMK MPs are being issued whip: Vaiko informs Speaker

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 18 (UNI) MDMK chief Vaiko today submitted a letter to Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee, stating that the two rebel MPs of his party, Mr G N Ramachandran and Mr L Ganesan, would incur disqualification if they voted for the government during the confidence motion on July 21-22 defying the party whip.

In the three-page letter, Mr Vaiko said the Election Commission had, in an order passed on May 30 this year, acknowledged him as the General Secretary of the MDMK while rejecting the claim of Mr Ramachandran to the post.

Mr Ramachandran and Mr Ganesan had announced their intention to vote for the UPA government during the confidence motion.

Mr Vaiko said he was asking his party MP, Dr C Krishnan, to issue a whip to all the other three MPs, the fourth member being Mr Sippipparai A Ravichandran, to be present in the Lok Sabha and vote against the trust motion.

The defying of the whip by any of his party MPs, would result in losing their membership of the Lok Sabha within 30 days, he said, quoting the relevant law.


Please Wait while comments are loading...