Except LS Speker, CPI(M) issues whip to MPs to vote against UPA

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Jul 18 (UNI) Barring Lok Sabha Speaker and veteran CPI(M) MP Somnath Chatterjee, the Communist Party of India(Marxist) today issued a whip asking all its LS members to vote against the Congress-led UPA government during the Trust vote on July 22.

'' We have issued a whip asking all our MPs to attend the special two-day session to be held on July 21 and 22 and to vote against the UPA Government at the Centre during the confidence motion, '' CPI(M) state secretary Biman Bose told newspersons here before leaving for Delhi to attend the party's two-day central committee meeting.

He said, '' We did not issue whip to the Speaker because the whip cannot be issued against the Speaker which is a decorum. '' To a query, Mr Bose replied, '' We have received a letter from state Transport Minister Subhas Chakraborty where he acknowledged that he had done mistakes in making comments on the Speaker issue in public. '' UNI AKM ADG RL ND1954

Please Wait while comments are loading...