BJP's whip to its MPs to vote against Confidence Motion

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 15 (UNI) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has issued a whip to its MPs to reach Delhi on the night of July 20 and vote against the Vote of Confidence motion of the UPA government in the Lok Sabha in the Special Session called on July 21-22. BJP Deputy Leader in the Lok Sabha Vijay Kumar Malhotra told newspersons that the NDA parties too had issued similar whips to their MPs to vote against the the Manmohan Singh-led government.

Leader of Opposition L K Advani has hosted a dinner meeting for the NDA MPs on July 20.

Asked about the jailed MPs exercising their franchise, Mr Malhotra said five of the MPs, including three 'convicted MPs, were undergoing imprisonment for offences, while two were under trials.

Efforts were being made by the ruling coalition that all the five MPs exercised franchise, but the BJP favoured allowing only under trial MPs to vote and not the convicted ones, he underlined.


Please Wait while comments are loading...