New TNCC Chief condemns Lankan Navy action

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, July 13 (UNI) Newly appointed TNCC President K V Thankgabalu today condemned yesterday's killing of Tamil Nadu Fishermen by the Sri Lankan Navy and said he would soon meet Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to ensure security for them.

Talking to reporters here, he said the Central and the State Governments should jointly take steps to step up coastal security.

''Security has to be beefed up near the territorial boundaries to prevent such attacks,'' he added.

Mr Thankgabalu said he had already written letters to the Prime Minister and the External Affairs Minister to ensure safety and security of the fishermen.

''During my next visit to New Delhi, I will personally meet the Prime Minister and the External affairs Minister to discuss the issue,''he added.

Mr Thankgabalu welcomed the stand taken by the PMK, which was recently ousted from the DMK-led DPA, that it would contest the next Assembly polls along with the Congress.

''We are ready to work together with any party that accepts the leadership of the Congress and shares our vision,'' he said.

He also hailed the PMK's announcement that it was prepared for a coalition government in Tamil Nadu headed by the Congress in the next Assembly elections.

However, it was for the Congress High command to take a decision on the issue, he added.

Referring to the factionalism in the TNCC, Mr Thankgabalu said there should not be any room for groupism in the party.

''I will work with more transparency and ensure intra-party democracy,'' he added.

On efforts being made by some groups to revive the now defunct Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC), a breakaway faction formed by Former Congress Leader G K Moopanar, he dismissed the reports and said there was 'no TMC now in the State.' Mr Thankgabalu said special programmes would organised to celebrate the 106th birth anniversary of Former Chief Minister K Kamaraj on July 15.

''Union Ministers P Chidambaram, G K Vasan and E V K S Ilangovan, Senior Congress Leaders Jayanthi Natarajan, B Gnanadesikan, CLP Leader D Sudarsanam and other leaders would participate,'' he said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...