Indian cricket team to assemble in city tomorrow

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Jul 12 (UNI) The 16-member Indian team led by Anil Kumble will assemble in the city tomorrow and leave for Colombo on July 15 for a month long tour during which they would play three tests and five ODIs.

After a session at the nets on July 14 morning at the M A Chidambaram Stadium, the team would leave for Colombo on the afternoon of July 15.

Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) Secretary Kasi Viswanathan told UNI today that all the players would reach the city by tomorrow evening.

Indian ODI skipper M S Dhoni had already opted out of the test series and the team has two uncapped players Rohit Sharma and Pragyan Ojha in the side. Offie Harbhajan Singh was also included in the side after the expiry of his five ODI ban for slapping fellow cricketer S Sreesanth during the IPL tournament.

Following is the team: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, V V S Laxman, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik (wicket keeper), Parthiv Patel (wk), Anil Kumble (capt), Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Zaheer Khan, RP Singh, Munaf Patel and Pragyan Ojha.

Following is the itinerary: July 23 to 27 : First test, Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo.

July 31 to Aug 4 : Second test, Galle International Stadium.

August 8 to 12 : Third Test, P Saravanamuttu Stadium, Colombo.

August 18 : First ODI, Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium August 20 : Second ODI, Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium August 24 : Third ODI, Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

August 26 : Fourth ODI, Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

August 29 : Fifth ODI, Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.


Please Wait while comments are loading...