CM announces names of 'Goa Scholars'

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Panaji, July 12 (UNI) Goa Chief Minister Digambar Kamat today announced the names of eleven scholars under the ''Goa Scholar'' scheme.

The ''Goa Scholars'' scheme was started in the year 2004-05 and 20 scholars have been feted since then. The scholars selected under the scheme are given one-time scholarship of USD 15,000 if they are pursuing education outside India, or Rs 2 lakhs per annum for two years if they are pursuing studies within the country.

During the year 2008-09, a committee comprising Goa University Vice Chancellor Prof Dileep Deobogkar, Fr Roumando D'Souza, Dr K M Gupt,Mr Srinivas Dempo, Mr Blaiz Costabir and Ms Liza Umaji Chowgule was consisututed. Higher Education director Bhaskar Nayak was the member secretary. The committee met and interviewed scholars on July 10 and 11. In all, 52 candidates applied for the scheme and finally eleven were selected.

The selected scholars are Amitolok Jayant Budkule, Dr Prashant Bhangui, Pralhad Deshpande, Ms Neha Karanjkar, Ms Leanne Mascarenhas, Ms Shiben Vinayak Naik, Ms Sweta Anil Narvekar, Utsav Prabhu, Dr Amar Prabhudesai, Alvaro Viegas, and Fernando Velho.


Please Wait while comments are loading...