Left urges President to direct PM to seek confidence vote

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 9 (UNI) The four Left parties today formally withdrew their support to the UPA government, reducing it to a minority, and submitted letters of widthrawal to President Pratibha Patil and urged her to direct the Prime Minister to prove his majority in the Lok Sabha.

CPI(M) General Secretary Prakash Karat led a four-member delegation, who called on the President this noon and submitted four separate letters and one joint letter of withdrawal of support, representing the CPI(M), CPI, RSP, Forward Bloc, which has a total strength of 59 MPs in the Lok Sabha.

''In view of the withdrawal of the support by the Left parties to the Manmohan Singh government, we request you to direct the Prime Minister to seek a vote of confidence in the Lok Sabha immediately,'' the joint letter to the President stated.

Later at a press conference, Mr Karat asserted that the Left parties would do their best to ensure that the trust vote was defeated as the Manmohan Singh government had a hidden agenda to ''please his US masters''.

''The struggle against the nuclear deal is yet not over. The Left parties, in association with other anti-nuclear deal parties, will resort to some strategy to ensure the defeat of the government, which has plunged the nation into a critical crisis,'' Mr Karat said.

During the conference, Mr Karat also answered a volley of questions regarding Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee's role in the present political scenario, Left's future relations with the Congress, their future action plan, the position of the IAEA on the classified documents and the Government's overall failure on all fronts -- inflation, mismanagement of economy, foreign policy, crisis in agriculture and its inability to contain communal forces.

Others who were present at the press conference, organised at front lawns of the CPI(M) headquaters A K Gopalan Bhavan included CPI General Secretary A B Bardhan, RSP General Secretary T J Chandrachoodan, Forward Bloc Debabrata Biswas.


Please Wait while comments are loading...