Premier Calcutta Football League begins

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Jul 8 (UNI) The eight-team Premier Calcutta Football League, which kicked off here today, saw Camellia George Telegraph Sports Club defeat Peerless Sports Club 1-0 in the inaugural match at Mohun Bagan ground.

The event was sponsored by Sahara India, which had assured of all support to promote soccer in the city.

The all important goal was scored by Mithun Saha in the first half.

In all, 56 matches would be played among the eight teams - Kingfisher East Bengal, McDowell Mohun Bagan, Mohammedan Sporting Club, Chirag United Sports, Calcutta Port Trust and Railway Football Club besides George Telegraph and Peerless Sports Club by August 31.

The matches would take place at Mohun Bagan ground, Yuba Bharati Krirangan, Barasat, Howrah and Khardah stadium and to be telecast live by Star Ananda, a 24-hour Bengali news channel, announced Indian Football Assocation secretary Utpal Kumar Ganguly.

A prize bonanza was also announced as winners would take home Rs five lakh and runners up Rs 2.5 lakh.

Sahara India's representative Deep Das Gupta, former India stumper, said their commitment to promoting soccer would continue.

Sahara India had been supporting the demestic league for the past three years.


Please Wait while comments are loading...