Cong gears up for LS polls: sets up cammpaign, manifesto committees

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 7 (UNI) Readying itself for the Lok Sabha elections against the backdrop of Left parties' threat to withdraw support over the Indo-US nuclear deal the All India Congress Committee today announced setting up of campaign and manifesto comittees.

The AICC said here that UPA chairperson and party president Sonia Gandhi will head the campaign comittee. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and several Union Ministers are its members.

External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee will be the vic-chairperson of the committee. The other members of the committee include Union Ministers A K Antony, Arjun Singh, party media cell chairman M Veerappa Moily and Information and Broadcasting Minister P R Dasmunsi.

AICC general secreteries in charge of states and frontal organisations will also form part of the committee. Pradesh Congress committee presidents and Congres Legislature Party leaders will be invited when state related issues will be discussed.

AICC general secretary and Amethi MP Rahul Gandhi, Union Finance Minister P Chidambaram, HRD Minister Arjun Singh, MP Sachin Pilot and Union Minister of state for communication and Information Technolgy Jyotiraditya Scindia will be members of the 21-member Manifesto Committee to be headed by Mr Pranab Mukherjee.


Please Wait while comments are loading...