Indian, 3 others receive this year Gerald Loeb Award for Journal

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 4 (UNI) Sanjay Jha of 'PBS Nightly Business Report' has become the first Indian to win the prestigious Gerald Loeb Award given for recognition of excellence in journalism - especially in the fields of business, finance and economy.

Jha shares the award with three others -- Steve Washington, Darren Gersh, Dana Greenspon -- who won the Loeb Award for 'Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism' for the series 'India's Promise' in the Television Daily category.

Talking to UNI, Jha said the 'India's Promise' series, comprising of five stories, was about the growth story of rising India and what it could do to continue the momentum which drew the world's attention.

''The award is recognition of the innate potential that India has.'' The series, he said, provides a first-hand look at the implications of India's rapid development while exploring the rise of its economy and depicting the enormity and diversity of India's population - through humanised and personalised presentation of the country's economic dimension.

''Actually it demonstrated how enterprising broadcast journalism can lead to a better understanding of international economic issues.'' Established in 1957 by Gerald Loeb, a financier, the Loeb Awards are presented by the Anderson School of Management at the University of California in Los Angeles.

This year's Awards were given in New York on June 30.


Please Wait while comments are loading...