New South Zone railway timetable launched

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Jun 30 (UNI) Minister of State for Railways R Velu today launched a comprehensive timetable for the South Zone, comprising Southern, South Central, South Western and Konkan Railways, which would come into effect from tomorrow.

Talking to mediapersons here, Mr Velu said as many as nine new trains would commence services as per the announcement in the Railway Budget 2007 and 2008. The first new train between Chennai Egmore and Salem would commence tomorrow, he added.

''Although the other new trains that were announced in the budget have found mention in the time table, commencement of operation of these trains would be notified later,'' he said.

Mr Velu said the services of five existing trains in the Southern Zone have been extended. The Bangalore-Coimbatore train had been extended to Ernakulam with effect from tomorrow.

Other trains, including the extension of Chennai-Bangalore weekly express to Sri Sathya Sai Prashanthi Nilayam, Madurai-Manmad weekly express to Rameswaram, Coimbatore-Kumbakonam Jan Shatabdi express to Mayiladuthurai and Tuticorin-Tirunelveli passenger to Tiruchendur, which was mentioned in the new time table, would be notified later.

The increase in the frequency of the New Delhi-Thiruvananthapuram Rajdhani Express from a bi-weekly train to a tri-weekly train was mentioned in the new time table, he informed.


Please Wait while comments are loading...