BJP sweeps K'taka Council elections

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jun 28 (UNI) As expected the ruling BJP bagged four of the five seats of Karnataka Legislative Council in the biennial elections for which counting was taken up today.

The victorious candidates from BJP were Mohan Limbikai, Shashil G Namoshi, Kota Srinivas Poojary and Dr Shivayogi Swamy.

Mr Puttanna of the Janata Dal(S) won the other seat getting re-elected from Bangalore Teachers constituency defeating Mr Neelaiah of Congress.

Congress continued to be rejected by the 'educated class' as it finished on the wrong side of the winner's circle in all the five segments.

Mr H K Patil was the notable loser from the Congress being defeated by Mr Limbikai in West Graduates Constituency.

The prominent Congress leader Bombay-Karnatak area, who was earlier a minister and the leader of the opposition party in the Council, had won from this constituency for four times in a row earlier. It was a double shock for Mr Patil as he had lost in his maiden attempt to enter the Assembly from Gadag constituency in the recent elections.

BJP emerged triumphant with Mr Namoshi scoring a hat-trick of wins from North-East Teachers constituency by defeating his nearest Congress rival Annaraya Ajagonda.

Mr Poojary defeated his nearest rival Nityanand Mondodi of the Congress from Dakshina Kannada Local Authorities constituency.

Dr Swamy on from South-East Graduates constituency defeated the sitting MLC H S Shivashankar of Congress.


Please Wait while comments are loading...