Three convicted MPs in UPA govt at Centre

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Jun 26 (UNI) With the conviction of LJP MP from Balia Suraj Singh alias Surajbhan in connection with a murder case, the UPA government at the Centre now has three convicted MPs in its fold.

Besides the LJP MP, RJD MPs Md Shahabuddin and Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav have also been convicted in separate murder cases.

The NDA government in Bihar is also not far behind the UPA, as it too has convicted MLAs in its fold.

JD(U) MLA Munna Shukla had been convicted in the killing of the then district magistrate of Gopalganj G M Krishnaiya.

The JD(U) rebel and former MP Anand Mohan also figured in the list of the convicted and was sentenced with death penality in the murder case of Mr Krishnaiya.

Samajwadi Party MLA Deonath Yadav, who recently joined the JD(U), too had a criminal background as he was convicted in connection with a murder case.

Some of the sitting MLAs, including LJP MLA Rama Singh and Manoranjan Singh Dhoomal (Independent) were behind the bars in connection with separate criminal cases.

Besides sitting MPs and MLAs, the names of former ministers Akhlak Ahmad and Aditya Singh also figured in the list of convicts.

Akhlak Ahmad was awarded with capital punishment in the Krishnaiya murder case while Aditya Singh had been sentenced in an another murder case.

Former MPs Lavli Anand and Anwarul Haq were convicted in separate murder cases. While Lavli Anand was awarded with life imprisonment in the Krishnaiya murder case, Anwarul Haq was held guilty in another criminal case.

Former MLA Arun Kumar had also been convicted in the Krishnaiya murder case.

Another former MLA Rajan Tiwari was also lodged in jail in connection with the then Bihar Minister Brijbihari Prasad murder case.


Please Wait while comments are loading...