Sachin, Sourav in running for Asian Cricketer of the Year

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jun 26 (UNI) India's two batting greats Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly are in the running for the Castrol Asian Cricketer of the Year Award to be held in Karachi tomorrow.

The two former India captains will be competing against three Sri Lankans - Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara and Muttiah Muralitharan.

This is the first time ever that an award has been instituted especially for Asian Cricketers.

The Castrol Asian Cricket Awards will honor and felicitate Asia's best cricketers on a biennial basis across all three formats of the game - Test cricket, One Dayers and T20 Internationals. This year, the awards will be given away for the calendar year 2007.

Stalwarts including Younis Khan, Mohammed Yousuf, Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Misbah Ul Haq, Shoaib Malik, Chaminda Vaas and Sanath Jayasuriya will vie for the awards given away to the best batsman and bowler in various categories across the three formats of the game.

In addition to the Asian Cricket Awards, Castrol will also be giving away the Castrol Pakistan Awards for Cricketing Excellence.

The legendary Hanif Mohammed will receive the Castrol Pakistan Lifetime Achievement Award.


Please Wait while comments are loading...