J&K Congress reconstituted; Soz continues as president

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jun 25 (UNI) The All India Congress Committee (AICC) today reconstituted the Pradesh Congress Commitee and the District Congress Committees in Jammu and Kashmir where elections are due later this year.

Union minister Saifuddin Soz has once again been appointed as Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress president.

While Prof Soz continues as the president, Dharmpal Sharma, Mohammad Muzaffar Paray and P Namgiyal have been appointed as senior vice-preidents of the Jammu and Kashmir PCC.

The reconstituted PCC will have 10 vice-presidents, 19 General Secretaries and 26 executive members, icluding Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, Dr Karan Singh and party veteran Makhan Lal Fotedar.

The party also announced new district presidents of Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh.

In January this year, Union Water Resources minister Soz was appointed Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee chief following the resignation of Peerzada Muhammad Sayeed, who was accused of accepting a bribe from an MLA as state's Education Minister.

The term of the 87-member Jammu and Kashmir Assembly ends in mid-November. This is the only state in the country whose Assembly has a six-year tenure.

Despite differences between themselves, the Congress and the PDP have been running the government since 2002.

Based on the rotational arrangement, in the first three years, PDP's Mufti Mohammad Sayeed ruled the state as Chief Minister while Mr Azad took charge of the office in 2005.


Please Wait while comments are loading...