ESPN STAR Sports retains title of Asia Cup to promote STAR Cricket

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, June 21 (ANI/Business Wire India): ESPN STAR Sports has retained the title of Asia Cup 2008 to promote STAR Cricket, its 24 hour dedicated channel on cricket targeted at the Indian subcontinent.

All the 13 matches of 'STAR Cricket Asia Cup' will be broadcast live and exclusive on ESPN and STAR Cricket starting June 24, 2008.

Speaking on the association of STAR Cricket with the Asia Cup, R C Venkateish, Managing Director, ESPN Software India Pvt Ltd, said, "STAR Cricket is a dedicated channel for the Indian subcontinent and there cannot be a better association than aligning with the Asia Cup where all the major cricket forces from the sub continent including India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are participating. I am confident that this branding and marketing initiative will go a long way in promoting the channel further in this region."

The sports broadcaster has roped in multiple sponsors for 'STAR Cricket Asia Cup' including Ultratech Cement, Bharti Airtel and Havell's.

The Future Group and Maruti Suzuki have also been roped in as associate sponsors of the tournament.

Other major clients who will advertise on this event include TVS, Nestle India, Amway India, Birla Sunlife Insurance, Tata Teleservices and GM Pens.

ESPN STAR Sports has lined up an array of international stars as commentators.

A panel comprising of ESPN STAR Sports' presenter Harsha Bhogle along with experts like Ian Chappell and Marvan Atapattu will be based out of the studios in Singapore.

The on-site commentary team has been divided into two parts because of simultaneous matches in the first phase.

For the Lahore leg, the commentators will include Ranjit Fernando, Waqar Younis, Athar Ali Khan, Ranil Abeynaike and Bruce Yardley. For the Karachi leg, Danny Morrison, Rameez Raja, Wasim Akram, Aamir Sohail and Arun Lal will take charge.

In the final phase of the tournament, Arun Lal, Danny Morrison, Rameez Raja, Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram, Athar Ali Khan, Ranil Abeynaike and Aamir Sohail will enthrall the audiences and will be responsible for the on-ground commentary.

Please Wait while comments are loading...