Home Minister Acharya, former Union Minister Rajashekaran elected

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jun 19(UNI) Karnataka Minister for Home V S Acharya, former Union Minister M V Rajashekaran and five others were today declared elected unopposed in the biennial elections to the Legislative Council from the Legislative Assembly.

Karantaka Legislative Council Secretary V Shreesh, who is also the Returning Officer, said that all the seven members who were in the fray after the scrutiny of the nomination papers were declared elected to Council.

The other members elected included Mr M Shankarappa, Bharathi Shetty, A Sidharaju (all BJP), A C Narayanaswamy and former Minister M C Nanaiah (Both JD-S).

BJP, which has 116 members, including six independents as Associate Members, had fielded four candidates. Congress with 80 Legislators had entered into electoral understanding with JD(S) had fielded only one candidate and extended support to two candidates fielded by JD(S) which has 28 members in the 224-member Karnataka assembly.


Please Wait while comments are loading...