Delhi players dominate in AITA Talent Series

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Jun 18 (UNI) Delhi boys and girls are dominating in the AITA Talent Series Tennis Tournament being played at the CLTA Sports Complex in Sector 10 here.

In the matches played today, three girls from Delhi moved into semi-finals in the Under-12 singles while three boys from the national capital stormed into semi-finals in the boys Under-16 singles.

Unseeded Abhimanyu, fifth seed Manish Kumar and second seed Ankit Chaudhary, all from Delhi took their appointed place in the boys U-16 semi-final. The fourth semi-final place went to local qualifier Jaivardhan Gupta. The semi-final line-up is: Abhimanyu vs Jaivardhan Gupta and Manish Kumar vs Ankit Chaudhary.

In the girls Under-12 singles, Delhi won semi-final slots through top seed Samriti, fourth seed Medha Toor and Devika Chakravarty.

Third seed Vibhuti of Chandigarh earned the fourth semi-final spot.

In the semi-finals, Samriti will meet Metha Toor and Devika, who stunned second seed Simran Wadhwa of Delhi, will cross swords with third seed Vibhuti Khullar.

Abhimanyu's opponent in semi-final will be qualifier Jaivardhan of Chandigarh, who shocked fourth seed Harry Jindal of Punjab in straight sets 6-1, 7-5.

In the second semi-final second seed Ankit Chaudhary of Delhi will face fifth seed Manish Kumar, also of Delhi. In quarter-finals, Manish eliminated lucky loser Ajay Thakur of Punjab 6-4, 2-6, 6-0 and Ankit ousted seventh seed Suraj Beniwal of Haryana 6-4, 6-2.

Unseeded Devika moved into the girls Under-12 singles semi-final with a stunning victory over second seed Simran Wadhwa of Delhi 4-6, 6-4, 6-2. Devika will now meet third seed Vibhuti Khullar of Chandigarh in the semi-final. Vibhuti beat Himani Mor 6-3, 6-3.

Results: Girls Under-12 (QFs): Samriti bt Hassan Dhanoa 7-6 (5), 6-2, Medha Toor bt Bhavya Wadhawan 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-2, Vibhuti Khullar bt Himani Mor 6-3, 6-3, Devika Chakravarty bt Simran Wadhawa 4-6, 6-4, 6-2.

Boys Under-16 (QFs): Abhimanyu bt Ashish 7-5, 6-2, Jaivardhan bt Harry Jindal 6-1, 7-5, Manish Kumar bt Ajay Thakur 6-2, 6-2, Ankit bt Suraj Beniwal 6-4, 6-2.

Boys Under-16 (PQFs): Ashish Sharma bt Srijjan Uppal 6-1, 6-4, Abhimanu bt Udai Mann 6-2, 6-4, Harry Jindal bt Hriday Kriplani 6-4, 6-1, Jaivardhan bt Jatinder Singh 6-3, 6-4, Manish Kumar bt Manoj 6-0, 6-4, Ajay Thakur bt Rishab Dev 6-4, 2-6, 6-0, Suraj Beniwal bt Resham Singh 6-1, 6-1, Ankit bt Arjun Tomar 6-1, 6-2.

Boys U-12 (QFs): Jatinder Singh bt Ankus Arora 6-0, 6-0, Sachin bt Prateek S. 6-3, 5-7, 6-1, Fatehdeep Singh Sahil 6-3. 6-3, Ishaque Eqbal bt Vikas 6-3, 6-0.

Boys Under-12 doubles (PQF): Paramveer S. Toor&Ankush Arora bt Alex Solanki &Alel Solanki 4-1, 3-5, 10-7, Prateek Toor&Dhruv bt Shivam&Shubham 4-2, 5-4(4), Fatehdeep Singh&Karandeep Singh bt Sahil&Rohan 4-2, 2-4, 10-7, Vikas&Rahul bt Shrey&Sachin 5-3, 4-0, Raghabv Talwar&Santbir bt Akshay&Mayank 4-5 (5), 4-2, 10-5.

Boys Under-16 doubles (PQFs): Manoj&Paramvir S. Toor bt Gagandeep&Jashandeep 4-0, 4-0, Arjun T.&Ajay bt Nishaque Eqbal&Nikunj Poddar 4-0, 4-2, Jaivardhan&Taranveer w/o Jajbir Singh&Bhavtaranpreet Singh, Hriday Kriplani&Ankit bt Srijjan Uppal&Anmol Bains 5-3, 4-0.


Please Wait while comments are loading...