AP Cabinet approves setting up of 6 universities

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jun 11 (UNI) In deference to the wishes of academicians, the Andhra Pradesh Cabinet today approved setting up of six new universities in different parts of the state.

Speaking to newspersons, after a Cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy, Information Minister A Ramanarayana Reddy said B R Ambedkar University at Srikakulam, Krishna University at Machilipatnam, Satavahana University at Karimnagar, Palamur University at Mahboobnagar, Vikrampuri University at Nellore and Rayalaseema University at Kurnool would start functioning from this academic year.

The Council of Ministers had also decided to hike allocation for the Mid-day Meal scheme from Rs 355.35 crore to Rs 497.49 crore, benefitting 60 lakh children, he said.

The Cabinet approved Rs 992.70 crore for integrated development of internal roads and drainage facilities in all rural mandals. Each rural mandal would be provided Rs 90 lakh for the purpose and the works would be implemented by the Panchayatraj Department.

At least 16.2 per cent and 6.6 per cent of total funds would be utilised in the areas inhabited by SCs and STs, respectively, he said.

The Cabinet gave its nod for creation or upgradation of 1,072 permanent posts and recruitment of 110 lower rung employees on contract basis for effective implementation of the INDIRAMMA housing and other welfare schemes and developmental projects, he said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...