AFC Challenge Cup draws declared

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jun 9 (UNI) Hosts India were pooled along with Central Asian powers Tazikistan and Turkmenistan in the second edition of the AFC Challenge Cup 2008, to be held here from July 30 to August 10.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Priyaranjan Dasmunsi today presided over the draw ceremony of the tournament.

Groupings for the tournament: Group A: Turkmenistan, India, Afghanistan and Tajikistan.

Group B: DPR Korea, Myanmar, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

The winners of the AFC Challenge Cups 2008 and 2010 would get direct entry to the 2011 AFC Asian Cup in Qatar.

Schedule for the tournament: July 30-- Turkmenistan vs Tajikistan: India vs Afghanistan.

July 31-- DPR Korea vs Sri Lanka: Myanmar vs Nepal.

August 1-- Tajikistan vs India: Afghanistan vs Turkmenistan.

August 2-- Sri Lanka vs Myanmar: Nepal vs DPR Korea.

August 3-- Turkmenistan vs India: Afghanistan vs Tajikistan, August 4-- DPR Korea vs Myanmar: Nepal vs Sri Lanka August 7-- semi-finals and August 10-- final.

Both India and Tajikistan are ranked 163rd in the latest FIFA World Rankings much lower than Turkmenistan (150th), while Afghanistan (182nd) is the lowest ranked in the tournament.


Please Wait while comments are loading...