Member for maximum number of times: Kharge's record in House

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, June 4 (UNI) Congress Legislature Party leader Mallikarjuna Kharge, who created a record by winning a ninth term in a row, will hold the distinction of being a member of the House for the maximum number of times, in the 224-member 13th Karnataka Assembly, according to official sources.

The 66-year-old political stalwart was first elected from Gurumitkal constituency in 1972. However, he was forced to change his constitutency in the recently concluded polls to Chittapur after it was carved our from Gurmitkal in the delimitation process. Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, who had made it to Lower House for the sixth consecutive time, is next in seniority after Mr Kharge. Mr Yeddyurappa, who was elected to 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 12th and 13th assemblies, however, suffered a setback when he was defeated in 1999 election from Shikaripur in Shimoga district.

The newly constituted 13th Assembly has 14 five-time Legislators, including ten from Congress, three BJP and one from JD(S), followed by 28 four-time members BJP (12), Congress (14) and JD-S(02), 19 three-time legislators BJP (12), JD-S (06) and one Independent.

Among the 71 second-time legislators 32 are from BJP, followed by Congess (30) and one Independent. Among the 90-first-timers 50 members are from BJP, 25 from Congress, JD(S) 11 and Independents 4.

While 75-year-old Congress member Shamanur Shivashankarappa is the eldest member in the House, BJP's 26-year-old Suresh Prabhu is the youngest legisltor of the 13th Assembly.


Please Wait while comments are loading...