TRS wins five MLA seats; Cong, TDP wrest three,two from TRS

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jun 1 (UNI) The ruling Congress and the Opposition Telugu Desam Party(TDP) today wrested three and two Assembly seats respectively from Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) in the counting of votes for the May 29 by-elections to 18 Assembly and four Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh.

TRS President and the former Union Labour Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao retained his Karimnagar Lok Sabha seat with a slender margin.

The TRS candidates also won five Assembly seats and were leading in two other Assembly constituencies, according to information received by the state Chief Electoral Officer.

The Congress and TDP were leading in Adilabad and Warangal Lok Sabha constituencies respectively, while the TRS was leading in Hanamknoda Lok Sabha constituency.

Mr Rao defeated his nearest Congress rival and former Roads and Buildings Minister T Jeevan Reddy by over 15,000 votes, while his party candidates retained the Alair, Kamalapur, Dommata, Siddipet and Huzurabad Assembly seats.

The Congress bagged the Dichpalli, Jetcherla and Vikarabad Assembly seats and was leading in three other Assembly contituencies.

The TDP won Ramayanpet and Ghanpur Assembly seats and was leading in three other Assembly constituencies.


Please Wait while comments are loading...