EC announce poll dates to fill vacancies in Council

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 31(UNI) Election Commission of India (CEI) has announced election dates to fill five seats in Karantaka Legislative Council, including a by-election to one seat from Dakshina Kannada Local authorities.

Biennial elections would be held for four constituencies like South-East and West graduates and Karnataka North-East and Bangalore Teachers constituencies on June 26.

The elections to four constituencies are being held as the term of four sitting members ends on June 30.

The members who are going to complete their term are Sashil Namoshi (North East Graduate) of BJP, H K Patil of Congress (West Graduate) and H S Shivashankar of JD-S (North-East Teachers) and K S Puttanna of JD(S) (Bangalore Teachers).

The elections would also be held to fill a casual vacancy arisen due to the death of sitting Congress member Blasius M D'Souza from Dakshina Kannada Local bodies constituency on the same date.

The ECI which had issued notification for the election and the last date for filing nomination was fixed on June 9 and withdrawal will be on June 12.


Please Wait while comments are loading...