Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka and Railways in Santoosh trophy pre-quater

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, May 30 (UNI) Delhi, Haryana, Karnataka and Railways entered pre-quarter finals of the 62nd National soccer championship for the Santosh Trophy after defeating Tripura, Assam, Uttar Pradesh and Chhattisgarh respectively here today.

Hosts Jammu and Kashmir have already reached the knock-out stage.

In the first match, Delhi outclassed Tripura by two goals.

Parveen Rawat draw first blood for Delhi in early minutes to grab the lead.

Delhi dominated the first half though Tripura also got a number of chances to level the score.

It was G Kanch, who consolidated the lead 2-0 after scoring from the top of the box in the 33rd minute.

In another encounter Haryana trounced Assam 2-1.

Gulidun Rangeri scored in the early minutes to put Assam in the lead.

Stung by the reversal, Haryana went all out for the equaliser.

Their efforts bore fruit when Abhishek levelled the score in the 42nd minute.

Sanjeev scored the all important goal for the winners when he made it 2-1 four minutes before the long whistle.

Assam also got a number of chances to score, but they failed to beat the Haryana goalkeeper.

In the third match of the day Karnataka thrashed Uttar Pradesh 3-0.

Playing like a well oiled machine, Karnataka attacked the rival defence from the word go.

In the 30th minute Rajinder Prasad scored the first goal for Karnataka, while Pradeep consolidated the lead scoring another goal in 40th minute.

Karnataka completed the tally early in the second half when Rajinder Prasad converted a penalty.

Uttar Pradesh received several chances to score but they failed to beat the Karnataka goalkeeper.

In the last and fourth match of the day, Railways beat Chhattisgarh 3-0. Pankash scoring first goal in 14th minute, Suraj Mandal in 22nd minute while S Sureshan in 51st minute for the winners.


Please Wait while comments are loading...