BJP gets support from independents in K'taka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 27: Waiting for Governor Rameshwar Thakur's invitation to form the first ever BJP government in South in Karnataka, the saffron party has claimed the support of all the six independents elected in the just concluded elections.

The party which fell short of the magical simple majority of 113 by three seats, winning 110, had been able to get the support of all the six independents, five of whom were paraded before the Governor last night when its leaders staked claim to form the next governments. The independent members were: D Sudhakara (Hiriyur), Narendraswamy (Malavalli), Shivaraj Tangadagi (Kanakagiri), P Venkatramanappa (Pavagadda) and Goolihuti Shekhar (Hosadurga) The sixth Independent Varthur Prakash (Kolar) also joined the bandwagon of his other colleagues today and met the senior BJP leaders, including BJP legislature Party leader B S Yeddyurappa, to offer his support.

Mr Prakash told the sources that he had decided to support the BJP as it had won the mandate of the people in the just concluded elections to Karnataka assembly.

Claiming that his support to BJP government will be an 'Unconditional' Mr Prakash however mentioned that only demand he had placed before B S Yeddyurappa was to bring Cauvery water to meet the drinking water need of Kolar town which is facing acute shortage of it. Mr Prakash said ''I have decided to function as an Associate member of the BJP legislature Party".

Mr Prakash, had contested as a rebel Congress candidate as he could not get the party nomination. He had earlier said that he would support the Congress in forming the new government provided his leader former Deputy Chief Minister Siddaramaiah was made the Chief Minister. But he changed his stand as the Congress had not taken any decision to form government with the support of JD(S).

The Congress had won 80 seats while the other principal opposition party JD(S) have secured 28 seats, less than half the seat it had won in the 2004 assembly elections.


Please Wait while comments are loading...