Six sitting MPs defeated in Assembly polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 25(UNI) As many as six sitting Lok Sabha members among seven, including Union Minister M H Ambareesh contesting elections to Karnataka Assembly were defeated after counting of votes ended here today.

All the three sitting Lok Sabha members from Congress lost at the hustings and one out of three Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) MP's managed to win the elections to Karnataka assembly.

The other Lok Sabha member, who was humbled at the husting was the State Samajwadi Party(SP) Chief S Bangarappa, who got defeated at the hands of BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa from the prestigious Shikaripur assembly seat from Shimoga District.

The other sitting Lok Sabha members, who failed to return to Karnataka Assembly were Narasingarao Suryavamshi (Aurad), A Venkatesh Nayak (Deodurga) (all Congress), Ramesh Jigajinagi (Chikkodi Sadalaga) and Basavaraj Patil Yatnal (Devara Hipparagi).

The only sitting Lok Sabha member, who was successful in his bid to enter the Karnataka Assembly was Mr Karunakara Reddy(BJP), who defeated Congress stalwart M P Prakash from Harapanahalli constituency in Davanagere district.


Please Wait while comments are loading...