Six Independents holds key to form next government in Karantaka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 25 (UNI) Six victorious independents, four of them l Congress rebels hold the key for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to form the new government in Karnataka.

The BJP which emerged the single largest party with 110 seats, was short by three for a simple majority and need to hunt among the independents to achieve its aim of forming the first government on its own, down the Vindhiyas. The Congress won in 80 constituencies, while the Janata Dal (Secular) in 28.

Only six of the 943 independents could win and they would be playing a key role in the formation of the government.

The successful independents were Shivaraj, a BJP rebel, from Kanakagiri, Narendra Swamy (Malavalli), Venkataramanappa (Pavagada), Varthur Prakash (Kolar), D Sudhakara (Hiriyur) (All Cong Rebels) and Goolihatti D Shekar from Hosadurga.


Please Wait while comments are loading...