Sena trounces NCP, retains Thane LS seat

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, May 25: Shiv Sena today defeated the Nationalist Congress Party by a margin of 90,872 votes and retained the Thane Lok Sabha seat.

Shiv Sena's Anand Paranjpe secured 462,766 votes after the 13th and final round of counting while his nearest rival Sanjeev Naik of the NCP polled 371,894 votes.

Chandrasekhar Shukla of the Samajwadi Party came third, having polled 20,971 votes.

The by-election had been necessitated due to the demise of Anand's father Prakash Paranjpe who had represented the constituency for four consecutive terms since 1996.


Please Wait while comments are loading...