BJP sweeps in three districts

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 25 (UNI) It was a clean sweep for the Bharatiya Janata Party in atleast three districts, as it improved its position further in northern Karnataka in recent Assembly elections even as the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) managed to retain their traditional strongholds in some districts.

Winning 110 seats, the BJP swept away all the seats in the districts of Bagalkot (seven), Gadag (four)and Kodagu (two) and won a line share in Belgaum (nine out of 18), Bijapur (5/8), Dharwad (6/7), and Bellary where the mine owners called the shots (8/9).

It was honours even in urban Bangalore out of 28 seats, the BJP emerged victorious in 17 followed by Congress ten and the JD(S) one.

IN Bangalore Rural out of four seats both Congress and JD(S) shared two seats each.

The BJP drew a poor two out of 11 in Mysore district and could not muster even a single seat in the districts of Hassan, Mandya, Ramnagara, Chikballapur and Chamarajnagar.

The Congress swept all the four seats in Chamarajnagar district, secured eight out 11 in Mysore, four out of five in Chikballapur and fared poorly in most of the districts having a token one or two representation.

For the JD(S) the bulk of its tally came from Hassan (five out of seven) and Mandya (four out of seven). In several districts it drew a blank.

Independents won in Chitradurga (two), Koppal, Tumkur, Kolar and Mandya (one each).


Please Wait while comments are loading...