BJP maintains winning streak in K'taka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 25: The BJP was maintaining its winning streak, securing 52 of the 87 results declared so far, for the 224-member Karnataka Assembly as counting of votes was in progress today.

Congress was in a poor second position, winning only 23 seats so far, though it was leading in 54 constituencies. The party suffered a major jolt when former Chief Minister N Dharam Singh tasted his first defeat in nine elections since 1972, losing to BJP's Doddappa Gowda by a mere 52 votes from his home turf of Jewargi.

The BJP, which was making inroads into both the Congress and the JD(S) bastions was ahead in 59 other constituencies.

The JK(S) has won only ten seats so far. The party was leading in 19 constituencies and placed in the third position.

Two seats were won by others.

Former Deputy Chief Minister M P Prakash, who joined Congress prior to the election, was also defeated by Karunakara Reddy (BJP) in Harapanahalli by a margin of over 17,000 votes.

JD(S) leader and former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy, who established a clear lead from the beginning, finally defeated his nearest rival M Rudresh of the BJP. Congress nominee Mamta Nichani who had created curiosity among the voters, came a poor third.

Senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah (Varuna) and former Union Minister V Srinivasa Prasad (Nanjangud), were among the main winners for the party. Some prominent leaders, including rebel star Ambareesh (Srirangapatna), BJP MP Ramesh Jigajinigi (Chikkodi) and former minister H Viswanath (K R Pet) were trailing.


Please Wait while comments are loading...