BJP maintains position in Karnataka

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 25 (UNI) The Bharatiya Janata Party maintained its winning streak securing 52 of the 87 results declared so far for the 224 member Karnataka Assembly as counting of votes was in progress peacefully today.

Congress was in a poor second position winning only 23 seats so far, though it was in the lead in 54 constituencies. The Party suffered a major reverse when former Chief Minsiter N Dharam Singh tasted his first electoral defeat in nine elections, losing to BJP's Doddappa Gowda (BJP) by a mere 52 votes from his home turf of Jewargi which he had been winning since 1972.

The BJP which was making inroads into both the Congress and the JD(S) bastions was ahead in 59 other constituencies.

Janata Dal (Secular) could win only ten seats so far and was leading in 19 others and was placed in the third position.

Two seats were won by others.

Former Deputy Chief Minister M P Prakash, who joined Congress prior to the election, was also defeated by a margin of over 17000 votes by Karunakara Reddy (BJP) in Harapanahalli.

JD(S) leader and former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy, who established a clear lead from the beginning, finally defeated his nearest rival M Rudresh(BJP). Congress nominee Mamta Nichani, who had created curiosity among the voters, came a poor third.

Senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah (Varuna) and former Union Minister V Srinivasa Prasad (Nanjangud) were among the main winners for the Congress. Some prominent leaders including rebel star Ambareesh (Srirangapatna), BJP MP Ramesh Jigajinigi (Chikkodi) and former minister H Viswanath (KR Pet) were trailing.

UNI Team/SR VK RKN1358

Please Wait while comments are loading...