Tough task at hands as Delhi chases Mumbai's 176

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 24 (UNI) A 42-ball 66 from Sanath Jayasurya coupled with Robin Uthappa's late charge helped Mumbai Indians score 176 for eight against Delhi Daredevils in a crucial IPL match at Feroz Shah Kotla here tonight.

Set to bat first, Sanath Jayasurya and Sachin Tendulkar gave a rollicking start to Mumbai Indians and utilised the power-play period to good effect as they raced to 60 in their first six overs.

Jayasurya launched some astonishing shots over the ropes while Tendulkar was content to witness the left-hander's blitzkrieg from the other end.

Brett Geeves, who made his IPL debut for Delhi today, did not have an auspicious start as both Tendulkar and Jayasurya took 15 runs from his first over but his replacement Yo Mahesh too was clobbered for 17 runs in his opening over.

Just when Sehwag's decision to field first looked to backfire, Yo Mahesh produced a peach of a delivery which nipped back and took away Tendulkar's leg-stump.

Tendulkar scored 18 off 16 balls with the help of three well-timed deliveries in the 70- run stand for the opening wicket.

Meanwhile, Jayasurya continued his attack and completed his half century in just 30 balls which was studded with five hits to the fence and four sixes.

Half way through the innings, Mumbai had reached 81 for one with Jayasurya looking threatening for Delhi who were eyeing a semi-final berth in their last league match tonight.

A huge six into the long-on stands off leg-spinner Amit Mishra from Jayasurya raised Mumbai Indians' 100 in the 12th over.

However, Daredevils managed to make a comeback with some quick wickets and Jayasurya's wicket, when he was on 66, must have been the most satisfying one for the hosts.

Jayasurya became a victim of Mishra's flight and while trying to loft the leggie to long -off fence fetched the waiting hands of Tilakratne Dilshan.

By then, Jayasurya had laid a good foundation for the late-order batsmen to go for the onslaught. The left-hander's 66 came off just 42 balls with five effortless sixes along with four boundaries.

Barring Jayasurya, the other batsmen could not make any major contributions and fell while trying to increase the tempo.

While Geeves emerged the most expensive bowler for Sehwag giving away 50 runs in his four overs, Mishra took the important wicket of Jayasurya to finish his four overs for 23 runs.

Dwayne Smith made run-a-ball 17 while Abhishek Nayar (1) became the only victim of Geeves.

South African all-rounder Shaun Pollock, too, failed to make a mark with the bat and was bowled off Ferveez Maharoof on when he was on 16.

Robin Uthappa, who has not had a great tournament so far, decided to take on pace spearhead Glen McGrath and launched three successive boundaries in his last over.

McGrath produced his worst bowling performance of the tournament as he went wicketless in four overs giving away 39 runs.

Uthappa remained unbeaten on 46 off just 33 balls which included five fours and two sixes and helped his team to post a challenging target for the hosts.


Please Wait while comments are loading...