Kings xi Punjab beats Deccan charges by six wickets

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mohali, MAY 23 (UNI) Kings XI Punjab further cemented their semi-final berth with six-wicket victory against bottom-placed Deccan Chargers with three balls to spare in the 48th fixture of the DLF Indan Premier League at the PCA Stadium here tonight.

Required to score 176 runs for their ninth victory from 12 matches, Kings XI Punjab scored 178 for 4 in 19.3 overs. Piyush Chawla drove RP Singh through extra cover boundary.

Kings XI Punjab captain Yuvraj Singh won the toss and elected to field. Deccan Chargers scored 175 for 4 in 20 overs. Adam Gilchrist (50), H Gibbs (44) and Rohit Sharma (50) were their main scorers.

Young Australian Shaun Marsh and Sri Lankan Kumar Sangakkara put them on the victory path as they were associated in 84-run partnership for the opening wicket stand. It was Sangakkara who departed first, as he was caught by Silva of the bowling of Rohit Sharma.

The elegant Sri Lankan batsman contributed 50 runs which were studded with seven fours and two sixes. His 33-minute knock came from just 25 deliveries.

Yuvraj Singh joined Shaun Marsh and they carried the total to 117 before Kings XI Punjab skipper Yuvraj (17) was dismissed by Pragyan Ojha who had Yuvraj caught by RP Singh. With well set Marsh departing after a match-winning innings to 60 in 64 minutes and just 46 balls. He reached the boundary three times and also hit three huge sixes.

Luke Pomerbach's wicket fell at 149 in 16.4 overs. Luke made 13 runs. Mahela Jayawardene (14) and Piyush Chawla (16) held the forth say their team through with an unbeaten 29 runs for the fifth stand.

Rohit Sharma was presented the DLF award for hitting maximum sixes (4). Shaun Marsh was declared player of the match.

Scoreboard Kings XI Punjab: Shaun Marsh c Gibbs b Styris 60 Kumar Sangakkara c Silva b Rohit Sharma 50 Yuvraj Singh c RP Singh b P Ojha 17 Luke Pomerbach c Rohit b Ojha 13 Mahela Jayawardene not out 14 Piyus Chawla not out 16.

Extras (w 5, lb 3) 8.

Total (for four wickets in 19.3 overs) 178.

Fall of wickets: 1-84, 2-117, 3-137, 4-149.

Bowling: RP Singh 3.3-0-37-0 Vijay Kumar 2-0-24-0 Venugopal Rao 2-0-23-0 S Styris 4-0-36-1 Rohit Sharma 4-0-25-1 P Ojha 4-0-30-2.


Please Wait while comments are loading...