Cong disassociates 13 Independent MLAs in Arunachal Pradesh

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Itanagar, May 24 (UNI) Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) has announced to disassociate 13 Independent MLAs, following an AICC's telephonic direction to Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu.

Party sources said here today the decision was taken by the All India Congress Committee high command yesterday, following 'a lot of confusion' and 'misgivings' among the party workers on the role of Independent MLAs in the electioneering process for the May 26 Panchayat polls in the state.

The AICC said, ''There is only a tacit understanding with them that they will work in close liaison with the Congress government in Arunachal.'' In the 2004 Assembly election, the Congress bagged 34 seats out of total 60, while Opposition BJP won nine seats, two each by Arunachal Congress (AC) and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and 13 Independents.

While both the NCP legislators deserted the party and joined Congress, eight BJP MLAs joined Congress recently taking the strength of the party to 44.

However, all the 13 Independents became associate members of the ruling party unconditionally.

Meanwhile, the APCC has congratulated the party candidates who were elected uncontested in the forthcoming rural polls.

The party also appealed to its workers, including its leaders, to maintain discipline and work united for victory of the remaining contesting candidates for the May 26 panchayat polls.


Please Wait while comments are loading...